Happy Marriage Equality, Minnesota!

Hooray! It’s August 1, and same sex marriage is legal in Minnesota!

I think this is the perfect day to share one of my favorite photos I’ve taken all year:

Same sex marriage law about to be signed by Governor Dayton - thumbs up by Craig Johnson!

Same sex marriage law about to be signed by Governor Dayton – Craig says thumbs up!

This was taken back on May 14, right before Governor Dayton signed into law the bill that brought marriage equality to Minnesota. My friend (and boss) Craig and I walked down to the public signing after work. As we walked toward the gathering crowd, I quickly snapped a picture of Craig in front of the crowd.

As we listened to the speeches, I realized how happy I was to be standing there with Craig. When Joseph and I got married, Craig was one of the readers at our wedding. (Fun detail: our first date had been to see our mutual friend Craig in a play. What play? “The Triumph of Love.” Win.) There was no question about wanting him to be part of the event, but I was also very aware that we were asking him to be part of a ceremony recognizing our relationship when the same option wasn’t available to him. So this spring, the fact that I was standing next to Craig gave me one more reason to cry tears of joy and happiness.

Happy marriage equality, Minnesota.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

