A basket of blankets

What random sentences from books stick with you and influence small parts of your brain?

Last night, I burnt a pan of rice pilaf. While cleaning it up, my mind turned to cozy things (aka making things that smell burnt into a good thing). One of the items on my mental cozy checklist is a basket of blankets. Specifically comfy, want-to-cuddle-with-them blankets.

A large basket lives in our living room, filled with blankets ranging from “okay” to “a little cozy.” The one blanket that comes closest to what I imagine doesn’t even live in the basket.

Crochet lap blanket. It lives on a chair, not on a table.

Years ago, probably in high school, I read Nancy Atherton’s “Aunt Dimity’s Death” for the first time. In the book, Lori, the protagonist, goes to visit her friend Meg at her home on the Maine coast. Meg has blankets:

“Meg’s “blankets” were her own personal works of art, hand-knitted afghans so soft and beautiful that I flinched whenever I saw them piled in haphazard heaps around the house. “I make them to be used,” Meg growled at anyone who dared to comment.”

From those two sentences, blankets became part of my cozy checklist (being on the Maine coast also helped). It’s random, I don’t plan to knit them all (maybe at least one), but someday the basket will be filled with blankets that are all in the “cozy” category.

There are so many little things like this, that we read or hear, that shape what we want or how we think. We add our own details, like my basket. I know I’m not the only one, what random sections of books stick with you? How are you engaged in ways you don’t even realize until later?

2 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Random

2 responses to “A basket of blankets

  1. Pamela Nelson

    How wonderful to hear this. I too read that book about 7 years ago and have been knitting ever since. Never a blanket but scarves with beautiful yarn. Thinking back I may never have picked up needles if not for that sentence in the book. Knitting has made me patient and peaceful

Leave a Reply

